Every signing will have a status: Open, Completed, Did not sign, On hold, Closed, Canceled, or Removed from signing. While the status can be changed over time, a signing can only have one status at a time. Statuses help indicate the progress of a signing.
See below for explanations for the different statuses that a signing can have and what they generally mean.
A signing will typically start out with an open status. An open order means that the signing appointment has yet to occur and a signing status hasn't been added to the order to indicate whether the signing was successfully completed or not.
On the order Add signing status will indicate the order is open.
On the dashboard, the status column may be blank or note how long ago the signing took place and show Add signing status.
An order can be updated to Completed by adding a signing status that indicates that the signing was successfully completed. As a notary, you can add a signing status once the signing appointment date and time have passed. Companies can also add a signing status to the order.
On the dashboard the Status column will show the order is Completed if it has not been closed out.
Did not sign
An order can be updated to Did not sign by adding a signing status that indicates that the signing was not successfully completed.
For signings that did not sign, some companies may still offer you a fee; however, the fee may be adjusted. If you have questions regarding the fee for a signing that did not sign, please follow up with the company that contracted you.
On the dashboard the Status column will indicate the order was a Did not sign, even after the order is closed.
Only companies can put an order On hold. This status will show on the order in place of Add signing status.
On hold orders typically mean that the company is waiting on something or someone in order to determine whether the order was completed and can be closed or if it should be canceled.
Orders can be on hold indefinitely.
If you have an order that is on hold, please contact the company that contracted you for an update on the order.
On hold orders where payment is made through VendorPay direct deposit will not have their payment processed. In order for payment to be processed, the order's status needs to be changed to either Completed or Did not sign and then the order needs to be closed. Please contact the company that contracted you, as they are the only ones who can change the status of the order.
On the dashboard the Status column will indicate the order is On hold.
A closed order will not indicate on the order that it has been closed. You will only see this indication on the dashboard. Orders can only be closed after a signing status has been added to indicate that either the signing was successful or not. Companies will typically close orders if there's no more work to be done on it.
Only companies can close an order. Our system may also automatically close orders if it detects that there hasn't been any work done on the order for an extended period of time. This is particularly important for orders where payment is through VendorPay, as orders need to have a signing status (either Completed or Did not sign) and need to be closed in order for payment to be processed.
Closed orders will be archived after 90 days. A message indicating the order has been archived will appear on the order.
Only companies can cancel an order. This status will show on the order in place of Add signing status.
Companies typically cancel an order if the signing was canceled. Most companies will typically not offer a notary fee for canceled signings; however, if you have any questions about your fee for a canceled order, please contact the company that contracted you.
If a signing is being paid through VendorPay and is canceled, payment will not be processed. If you believe that payment should still be received, please contact the company that contracted you. Only the company that created the order can adjust the status of the order.
On the dashboard the Status column will indicate that the order is Canceled.
Removed From Signing
Companies can remove a signing agent from an order they have been assigned to. This can happen if the company accidentally assigned to the order a different signing agent or if circumstances of the signing appointment change and the assigned signing agent is no longer available. Removing a signing agent allows the company to use the same order again, instead of having to cancel the original order and create a new one.
If you were removed from a signing and are not sure why, we suggest contacting the company that initially assigned you to the order. They'll be the best party to provide you with more information.
The signing will not appear on your dashboard once you are removed and you will not have access to the order.